I chose this photograph of Rick Perry because it looked different than the usual presidential shots. Barthes would probably consider this to be a three quarters version of an electoral picture but instead of looking up in the heavens with a look full of pride and nationalism Perry seems to be looking at something specific that we cannot see. To me, it looks like he is looking at his competition and smirking at them as if to say, you might as well give up now, I have the election in the bag. This portrays confidence which is obviously huge if you want to become the next president of the United States. His attire is formal so it shows that he dresses well and can be presented in public which conveys poise and the fact that he was brought up well and can take care of himself.

The one thing that really jumps out at me in this picture is Perry’s face. The first thing I thought when I saw this was, “he knows something I don’t.” Like I said earlier, it is almost as if he is laughing at the fact that people are even attempting to against because in the end he is going to win so why waste your time? However, the more I look at it the more it makes me want to know what he appears to know that I don’t, so that might be either a conscious or subconscious way Perry lures in his supporters; through subliminal imaging.

Another thing to notice about this picture is what is in the background, which appears to be some sort of American flag which shows that he is patriotic and proud to be a part of this country.

One last small observation that I made about Perry in this photograph is his wrinkles. Most people who are in the spotlight quite frequently use things like Botox to appear younger and healthier however Perry’s wrinkles give his age away, which I think helps him reel in voters. This is because although people love to see enthusiastic young leaders, they also love, maybe even more, to see experienced men who know what they are doing and will know what to do in a crisis. I think his wrinkles give him that image.

 

Leave a Reply

